PMA People

Q&A with our People

Angel Ripepi

, San Francisco

What current projects are you working on?
I am currently working on the San Francisco Metropolitan Transportation Authority’s Central Subway project which involves constructing a new lightrail line that will improve public transportation in one the most densely populated neighborhoods in the world. I provide master scheduling services, time extension analyses and negotiations, cost management, and forecast reporting. I also prepare monthly progress reports using Primavera Contract Manager and Primavera P6.

Another major project I’m involved with is the Orinda Water Treatment Plant Reliability and Maintenance project which consists of replacing the existing filter under the drains and disinfection system and installing a redundant power building and other appurtenances, as well as the interior coating of the Orinda wash water tank. I provide construction phase scheduling services which include analyzing the contractor’s construction schedule and evaluating the adequacy of the construction activities and durations; identifying up-front risks, and providing detailed comments. Additionally, I am providing baseline, monthly updates, and change order reviews.

What is your career highlight so far?
Transforming an incomplete and unreliable 65 project P6 database that we inherited from a previous project administrator into a workable and useful resource of information was incredibly challenging in the best way. The effort our team put into the project changed the course of the entire program and was recognized by the client.

What is something new or innovative happening in your industry?
The use of drones and robots in the construction industry is incredible. For example, improvements on the new floor layout robot that can complete a 50,000 sqft floor plan overnight without superintendent/foreman errors are changing the industry at a very fast pace. There are no interpretation errors–just upload the AutoCAD floor plan into the robot and the entire floor will be ready for work by next morning.

What university or college did you graduate from?
I received a bachelor’s degree from Universidad Católica Andres Bello in Caracas, Venezuela and a master’s degree from University of Southern California (USC) in Los Angeles, CA.

What is your favorite local establishment/feature (restaurant, museum, stadium, etc.)?
I like to eat and San Francisco is a great place for foodies. One of my favorites is Mandalay, a modest, low-key Burmese restaurant recommended by a Burmese friend.

Provide a Fun Fact?
Thursday nights are religiously observed as soccer night for me. I have been playing soccer since I was 7 years old. There was a time I was very serious about it; now I play just to stay in shape and have fun. We can talk soccer any time–just let me know.