PMA People

Q&A with our People

Nader Moghtader

, San Francisco

What are you passionate about and how do you pursue that passion at PMA?

One of my passions is social interactions. Every day I learn something new about construction, politics, or people. PMA is a pretty great place to work. Truly, the best thing about showing up to work every day are the people. Clearly, we’re a large, successful firm, and we are trying to grow larger and more successful every day. But, through our professional growth, PMA has maintained a culture of unity and support while encouraging personal growth. Many comparable firms, both larger and smaller, have quickly devolved into a culture of work, while PMA has instead created its own cultural attributive adjective: “PMAer.” To me, that’s a drastically underrated benefit of working at PMA, and that’s what I enjoy most about coming to work every day.

What current project(s) are you working on?

I am working on the Silicon Valley Clean Water Authority Wastewater Treatment Plant Headwork Improvement project for which I provide construction phase scheduling services that include analyzing the contractor’s construction schedule and evaluating the adequacy of the construction activities and durations, identifying up-front risks, and providing detailed comments. Additionally, I am providing baseline, monthly updates, and change order reviews.

Who/what inspires you to push yourself? (Personal heroes, family members, ideas)

My family inspires me. I love spending time with them, and I aspire to be a good role model for my son.

What are the most positive aspects of working at PMA? Or Share your impressions of PMA’s culture.

Good management, friendly co-workers/good atmosphere are the most positive aspects of working at PMA.

What is something innovative happening in your industry that makes you excited about the future?

I have seen an increase in the use of cloud-based construction management applications that allow users to edit, manage, and track the progress of their project from any web-connected mobile device.

What university or college did you graduate from?

I received a bachelor’s degree from Azad University in Iran in 2006.

What is your favorite local establishment/feature (restaurant, museum, stadium, etc.)?

Locally, my wife and I enjoy taking our 6-month-old son to parks such as Laurelwood Park, which has great views of San Francisco Bay Area.

Provide a fun fact or secret talent about yourself?

When I was 18 years old, I spent my free time in the gym.