PMA People

Q&A with our People

Wee Orwatthana

, Boston

What current project(s) are you working on? 

Currently I am working on a laboratory and pharmaceutical expansion and renovation project.

Do you get to do something at work every day that you love? If so, what is it?

I enjoy leading meetings: ensuring that everyone is on the same page; assigning responsible parties, action items, and deadlines; communicating team conclusions and next steps for team alignment, problem-solving, and planning. The beauty of it is not only the learning curve and knowledge I’ve acquired while preparing and orchestrating the meetings and summarizing notes for wider audiences but also getting to see what the team discussed and built up transformed into reality. I believe enjoying the process of doing something is as important and meaningful as enjoying the outcomes.

What is your career highlight so far? (at PMA?) 

My career highlight is my 3.5 years experience at PMA working on a laboratory and pharmaceutical renovation project. I have been implementing schedule control and monitoring, interactive planning sessions, and schedule analysis to develop and maintain schedule as well as align team expectations and execution plans for a complex, full operating, and uninterrupted manufacturing site. Because of the success of this project and the additional capacity, the client was able to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic and has been able to utilize the new facility to start production, aiming for over 50 million COVID tests per month.

What is something new or innovative happening in your industry that makes you excited about the future?

I am excited about the concept of a hyperloop for public or freight transportation. It would be good to have high speed transportation with more energy efficiency.

What was a transformative project or challenge that you did at PMA? 

Developing and maintaining project master schedules, creating document workflow diagrams, and being highly involved in process control systems scope with multiple parties from different locations are all challenges. These are very complicated and technical subjects, totally new to me, and challenging to the entire project team.

Who/what inspires you to push yourself? (Personal heroes, family members, ideas)

My grandfather, who was born in a rural area in Phuket, Thailand inspires me. He started everything from zero: from an employee of a grocery shop in a farmer market in Phuket town to a business owner in the hospitality industry. He is my role model for working, perseverance, and contribution to community. “Work like you own it” and his dedication for everything he did no matter whether it’s for his family or others is the starting point of his success and is one of the most valuable things I’ve learned from him.

What university or college did you graduate from?

I received my bachelor’s degree from Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand.

I earned my master’s degree at Northeastern University, Boston, Massachusetts. This is where I was introduced to PMA through my professor, Gary Jentzen!

What is your favorite local establishment/feature (restaurant, museum, stadium, etc.)?

My favorite local establishment is the American Repertory Theater.

Provide a fun fact about yourself?

I traveled approximately 4,500 miles – 5 days 4 nights via Amtrak Coast Starlight, Empire Builder, and Lake Shore Limited train through Los Angeles – Sacramento – Portland – Montana – Minnesota – Chicago – New York – Boston with 2 checked bags and 2 carry-on bags while enjoying the view, food, and chatting with other passengers. That’s how I moved from LA to Boston by myself in 2013 after living there a year and a half. It’s also exactly 7 years ago this month.

Do you have any secret talents?

Fruits and Vegetables Carving. Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/WeeMyCarving/

[CDATA[ var anchors = document.getElementsByTagName("a"); for (var i=0; i
[CDATA[ var anchors = document.getElementsByTagName("a"); for (var i=0; i<anchors.length; i++) { var anchor = anchors[i]